Freudenstadt 100 clutch

Hello everyone, this is my first post on this forum. I live in England and I have been restoring radios for two years. My main interests are 1930s Ekcos, 1950s and 1960s large German radios and 1960s and 1970s Hacker transistor radios.

Now I am restoring a Freudenstadt 100. It is the most complex radio I have worked on and there is a lot of work to do.

One problem is with the tuning mechanism; the pointers stop moving while I turn the tuning knob. It is the same on AM and FM. I think the problem is with the clutch and I hope someone can answer my questions.

There are two small screws (grub screws), one on each side of the clutch body. What is their function? Can they be used to adjust the clutch? Is it possible to adjust the operation of the clutch in any way?

If I have to remove the clutch, is that a simple task? I am not good at replacing drive cords so I would like to leave them undisturbed as much as possible.

Thank you for reading my questions.

Gus.
      You're right, you won't be able to remove the clutch without loosening the cords. But hey! That's part of the fun. Isn't it? ;)

Actually you don't have to remove the cords completely. Just use some tape around the bends so the cords don't come off when you loosen them. Then remove the the axles and take apart the clutch like shown on the pictures.

You should take thousands of pictures before doing this. AND you should draw the course of the stings. In case they come off you will be able to reroute them.
      Geht ned gibts ned.
      Hello Gus,

if nothing is broken inside the clutch , you normally don´t have to
      dismount or change it.

You can open the clutch by relaxing the two bent metal shieldings
      mounted on it using a small screwdriver. After opening the clutch
      you will see if anything is broken inside. If not - OK !

You can use some fluid oil, like used for cleaning and lubricating